Re-evaluate

OK. I think it’s time to admit that my original goal of 365 words everyday was a bit more ambitious than I thought. It’s at least a bit too ambitious for me to fulfill at the present time. But that’s OK; It is said that pilots are constantly altering their course in order to keep themselves on track. If it’s OK for pilots to do this then I think it’s OK for me as well. And so it’s time for me to re-evaluate. In light of this, I am going to slightly alter my goal and this blogs title. I am still going to write 365 words each day for 365 days but I am no longer going to try and force these days to be consecutive. As Richard Dreyfus told Bill Murray in “What About Bob?”…Baby Steps.

Yes, I know this is a bit of a cop out on my end but I have good reason. The purpose in starting this blog was to get me into the habit of writing and to generate and focus my ideas so that I will have the ability to write more interesting material on a regular basis. And you know what? So far the plan has worked very well. I just don’t want to get into my old familiar habit of beating myself up when I don’t reach the goal on a daily basis. This usually leads to me getting frustrated and giving up. I refuse to do that this time. 

The other reason I am altering the goal is you, the reader. I appreciate you taking time out of your busy day in order to peruse some random rant from this twisted little head of mine. I want to make that time worthwhile so that you’ll come back again and again. So if you promise to keep coming back, I promise to make it worth your while. Is that a fair deal?

Cheers,

Mikael

1 Comment

Filed under Writing

One response to “Re-evaluate

  1. Matthew C.

    It’ll get easier, but there will always be little bumps in the road when you have no idea what to write about. Stick with it. I started my blog to help with my writing, and I have thought about abandoning it, but now I’m hooked, and my writing has been improving exponentially.

Leave a Reply

